Feedback

Feedback

Client Feedback Survey - May 2021

100% of clients said they would recommend us to others.

100% of clients were extremely satisfied with the overall service they received.

100% of clients felt our services were good value for money. 

"Tracey Read provided outstanding service. A helpful, clear and no nonsense approach helped me so much as Executor. The best conveyancer of the many I have worked with. Responsive despite a huge workload she remained calm and focused on the relevant issues. Exemplary. Thanks Tracey and to Jenn and Anna for all your help. Excellent service."

Conveyancing - June 2021 

"all very agile, professional and effective"

Employment - June 2021 

"Tracey… Many thanks for all your hard work and dedication to our sales and purchase. We feel very blessed that you put 100% in on our behalf.. And would recommend you and your company any time."

Conveyancing - June 2021 

"Thank you for all your assistance in this redundancy, you’ve made it an easy process which I appreciate."

Employment - June 2021 

"Thank you for all of your amazing efforts to get us up here in plenty of time to get the house sorted before [our baby’s] arrival. "

Conveyancing - May 2021 

"Tracey, we would just like to thank you and you colleagues for all your hard work, we know if hasn’t been easy and you’ve been very busy. You have done a brilliant job and couldn’t be happier with your services."

Conveyancing - June 2021 

"Just wanted to thank you for your close attention and all your efforts to get us to this point: I appreciate it is very hard work for you and have been enormously grateful for your close communications which I have found to be reassuring. asn’t been easy and you’ve been very busy. You have done a brilliant job and couldn’t be happier with your services."

Conveyancing - June 2021 


Give us your feedback

Testimonials

  • We would just like to say again how grateful we are to you for all your help and understanding during the stressful process. You are a devoted diamond indeed and we would not hesitate recommending you.

    Conveyancing - May 2021

  • Everything was excellent

    Employment - May 2021

  • Thank you for all your help and advice, we feel very lucky to have found you as our solicitor as you are so on the ball with everything.

    Conveyancing - May 2021

  • I've generally had excellent work from BakerLaw and you have been no exception to that rule. Thank you for the great and timely service. Much appreciated

    Private Client - May 2021

  • Thank you for all of your amazing efforts to get us up here in plenty of time to get the house sorted before [our baby’s] arrival.

    Conveyancing - May 2021

  • The service was second to none

    Conveyancing - May 2021

  • I would like to extend my thanks for your invaluable recommendations and direction, which without I don't think the outcome would have been so fruitful.

    Employment - April 2021

  • We found the expertise, guidance and information provided during our matter to be invaluable. We found the services excellent and professional. All our communication was answered quickly and provided in an easy to understand way. We were provided with advice and estimates of both timeframes and costs at the outset, together with details of how the matter would be dealt with. Having now gone through the process, and the matter having been finalised, we felt that the team under promised and over delivered with every aspect.

    Tracey Meldrum and Andy McNaughton

    Private Client - April 2021

  • Tracey Read was brilliant. Everything was dealt with in a timely manner, and we were kept updated throughout. We would highly recommend. We found the service to be all round excellent and professional.

    Conveyancing - April 2021

  • Andrew and Hannah were very professional and went through documents thoroughly. Discussions were accurate and to the point and very friendly.

    Employment - March 2021

  • I really feel you are on our side which makes a great difference particularly when dealing with such difficult and important documents and this move meaning so much to us!

    Commercial Property - March 2021

  • Thank you for all your (and your teams) excellent and very speedy work. It was the polar opposite of our dealings with a conveyancer from our first purchase. You were very clear and understanding with all our daft questions (and seemingly working all hours!). We were delighted and surprised to get everything through before the end of March.

    Conveyancing - March 2021

  • Tracey was amazing.

    Conveyancing - March 2021

  • Exceptional Service and support from Emily. We felt supported all the way through difficult employment issues.

    Employment - February 2021

  • Amy Nelson, backed up by Claire Porter continue to provide us and my wider family the best service we can hope for. Thank you!

    Private Client - February 2021

  • Top notch service.

    Conveyancing - February 2021

  • The services were really good. Amy was very helpful. My brother and I were very happy with the services we received from you. Just would like to thank Amy for helping with my will writing. It was much appreciated. It was very nice to feel at ease

    Private Client - February 2021

  • We turned to Baker Law when we concluded that another firm of solicitors was not serving our interests as well as we had expected. Since starting to work with [Danielle] and the Baker Law team in November 2019, we have had no reason to regret that decision. You have laboured tirelessly on our behalf. You have kept a cool head at the many challenging points in the process, have always given balanced and well-judged advice, and have been a source of calm reassurance to us when we might have given up in utter frustration at the many adverse turns that events took. You have handled difficult interactions with our tenant with patience and dignity, setting out our position with clarity and firmness. You and those who support you have, in short, been a pleasure to work with throughout.

    Dispute Resolution - January 2021

  • We would like to thank you very much for your excellent service on the sale of our house and our purchase. We are happily ensconced and can't believe how smoothly it all went, thanks to your efficiency. To have gone from first viewing on 5 October to completion and move on 5 January - exactly three months, and precisely the amount of time you originally said!

    Conveyancing - January 2021

  • Thank you for everything you have done in our house conveyance. You have been fantastic.

    Conveyancing - December 2020

  • Tracey Reed handled the sale of our property. Her communication, knowledge and support were invaluable in helping us in managing the stress associated with this transaction. We would highly recommend Tracey and BakerLaw.

    Conveyancing - December 2020

  • All areas exceeding expectations and that of other firms we've used in the past.

    Conveyancing - December 2020

  • Thank you so much for all your help during the sale. From the initial recommendation to signing a limited power of attorney to avoid exchange delays, through to completion, you’ve been a great support, so thank you.

    Conveyancing - December 2020

  • Tracey Read handled the file throughout and kept a wobbling chain on side while chivvying a slow country practice into responding quickly to save the chain. Unbelievably effective - and mine was the quickest moving transaction in the area I was moving to. The seller’s estate agent asked if Tracey could be cloned.

    Conveyancing - November 2020

  • A fantastic service, many thanks. Andrew explained everything perfectly, in plain English, highly recommended.

    Employment - November 2020

  • Thank you so much for the extremely efficient and swift agreement reached in the hearing. We are all deeply grateful for your help and assistance.

    Dispute Resolution - November 2020

  • I'm very happy. My overall package is one I'm much happier with thanks to you! Thanks again for your help, really appreciate everything you've done for me.

    Employment - November 2020

  • Tracey was exceptional at every step of the way, excellent communication, very reactive to any questions we asked really made our move experience really smooth.

    Conveyancing - November 2020

  • Everything is spot on.

    Employment - October 2020

  • I was well looked after by all your staff.

    Conveyancing - October 2020

  • It was great.

    Private Client - October 2020

  • [My matter] was much more complicated than anticipated but handled well and professionally.

    Conveyancing - September 2020

  • Tracey Read was fantastic to deal with, I couldn't be more impressed.

    Conveyancing - September 2020

  • Until this point, my experience with legal services has mostly been problematic, but this was incredibly smooth and I appreciate the transparency and how swiftly you resolved the issue.

    Employment - September 2020

  • Jenn, thank you again for all that you have done for us. Huge thanks also to Kevin. I have felt in safe hands and thoroughly supported by you all and would have no hesitation recommending BakerLaw to friends.

    Conveyancing - September 2020

  • The service was excellent.

    Private Client - September 2020

  • On the two occasions I have had the need to contact BakerLaw, the service has been superb.

    Employment - September 2020

  • Throughout the whole conveyancing process, Tracey Read was extremely proactive and informative. I would highly recommend Tracey to anyone moving home.

    Conveyancing - September 2020

  • Emily dealt with my redundancy issue excellently and efficiently.

    Employment - September 2020

  • Tracey Read was very efficient and thorough.

    Conveyancing - August 2020

  • Thank you Mark for your help with what was, a stressful situation.

    Dispute Resolution - August 2020

  • Thank you so much for being so helpful, easy to contact and for being very professional.

    Immigration - August 2020

  • I cannot complain at all about the service I received. Tracey Read was excellent.

    Conveyancing - July 2020

  • I was delighted with the service - I have no suggestions for improvement!

    Employment - July 2020

  • From the very start right through to completion we were kept constantly up to date, informed and any issues explained and worked out. Absolutely superb!

    Conveyancing - July 2020

  • Thank you for your help and advice, and getting me to increased amount, it's much appreciated. And thank you for your patience and availability in a tight time frame.

    Employment - July 2020

  • Excellent and very rapid turnaround of a severance agreement by Andrew Peters. Just what you want in these difficult circumstances. The virtual meeting was also very efficient. All in all, highly recommended.

    Employment - June 2020

  • Very professional and proactive.

    Conveyancing - June 2020

  • Andrew Peters assisted me and I found him to be very professional, patient and extremely helpful. He dealt efficiently and promptly with my query.

    Employment - June 2020

  • We were extremely satisfied with what we received from start to finish. Thank you, Tracey, for making our move as stress free and easy as possible. You went above and beyond for us.

    Conveyancing - June 2020

  • I found your service to be efficient and stress free in the difficult situation I found myself in.

    Employment - June 2020

  • Amy and Claire, thanks again for all your help over the last few months. You've both made everything clear and easy to work through at a very difficult time.

    Private Client - May 2020

  • Amy, my thanks to you and the team for finalising this matter.  I am grateful to you all for your hard work, especially during these difficult times.

    Private Client - May 2020

  • I appreciated the very professional service offered by Andrew Peters and his team. Making a stressful moment less so.

    Employment - April 2020

  • Andrew, I am very pleased with the outcome and I want to thank you for your considered and balanced approach during a difficult time for me. Hopefully won't need your services in the future, but I will certainly recommend you.

    Employment - March 2020

  • Tracey, thank you again for the excellent service. Your willingness to discuss the various issues that came up made the process far less stressful for us. BakerLaw will certainly be our first choice next time we need a solicitor.

    Conveyancing - March 2020

  • Andrew, thank you for your excellent service from start to finish. I would have no hesitation in recommending you or using your services again should the need arise.

    Employment - February 2020

  • Harriet Greener was always helpful, polite and kept me informed of progress of my house purchase.

    Conveyancing - January 2020

  • I met Amy Nelson several times and was extremely impressed by her professionalism relating to setting up a Trust for my grandson. She explained everything clearly and was always happy to go over anything that I wasn't sure about.

    Private Client - December 2019

  • Tracey, thank you very much indeed for your diligence and straight forward work in carrying out the conveyancing of the house sale for our mother's estate. We are pleased to hear this is now completed.

    Conveyancing - January 2020

  • Emily was well informed, keen and helpful to find potential solutions and most importantly was successful.

    Employment - December 2019

  • I have known Kevin Duffy for 20 years and he has always dealt with my conveyancing. He and his team at BakerLaw provided a first class service.

    Conveyancing - November 2019

  • Lalini was very polite, helpful, effective and efficient.

    Conveyancing - November 2019

  • As ever, thank you very much for the assistance, Emily was excellent and gave us both great advice and a real peace of mind over our situation .

    Employment - October 2019

  • I would like to take this opportunity Ms Nelson to thank you for the work that you carried out on our behalf and commend you on a highly professional service, with every detail itemised and correct. With some Solicitors of my experience it would have been a single sheet of paper with the final figure on it.

    Private Client - October 2019

  • Andrew Peters is a true professional who deals with matters sympathetically and efficiently. His advise is first class and I would and I would recommend his services to anyone looking for employment advice.

    Employment- September 2019

  • Apologies for being unhelpful but I couldn't find any room for improvement!

    Conveyancing- August 2019

  • Mark and Amanda have remained professional and ethical throughout this extremely stressful experience, which is more than can be said for the opposing solicitors. Even before we were totally victorious obtaining 100 per cent of what we had sought to achieve, I was recommending BakerLaw to anyone who would listen and I would not hesitate to engage them again.

    Dispute Resolution - July 2019

  • Good explanations before and during negotiations coupled with the knowledge and experience of Andrew gave me confidence in making reasoned decisions.

    Employment - July 2019 
  • Amy Nelson was very kind and extremely helpful at a very stressful time for me.

    Private Client - July 2019 
  • Excellent service received from Andrew Peters. I would highly recommend Andrew and BakerLaw.

    Employment - July 2019 
  • Farhana was excellent to deal with and very personable.

    Private Client - July 2019 
  • We were very well served by Amy. She took great pains to explain all the legal alternatives we could explore and was a great help.

    Private Client - June 2019 
  • Lalini and Harriet were always courteous, kind, encouraging, patient and supportive.

    Residential Conveyancing - June 2019 
  • Emily Yeardley provided an excellent service.

    Employment - June 2019 
  • I was most impressed with BakerLaw. Emily was very professional and responsive throughout. I will keep BakerLaw in mind for future requirements and indeed in respect of all my other clients.

    Employment - June 2019 
  • The advice and support I received was excellent.

    Employment - June 2019 
  • Thank you Emily. I am very grateful for your help in bringing this matter to a close. You have been very professional and responsive throughout.

    Commercial Client, Property Sector - May 2019 
  • We have been very well looked after by Amy Nelson, who has been very professional yet kind and understanding throughout. Thank you.

    Private Client - May 2019 
  • It was a pleasure working with you all too. I can’t express my gratitude enough to the whole team. Seeing the team work, especially during mediation was awe inspiring.

    Dispute Resolution - May 2019 
  • Thank you for your services, help and support. I would not have made it through the choppy waters without your guidance.

    Employment - May 2019 
  • May I take the opportunity to say a sincere thanks to you for the superb way in which you handled my recent case with your sensitivity and professionalism.

    Employment - May 2019 
  • Thank you so much for your confident, knowledgeable and compassionate handling of my client’s potential claim. They were extremely worried and I can’t tell you how reassuring it was for them to have your support. I fully appreciate that the battle is certainly not over yet, however knowing that we have your expertise behind us moves the mountain to a more realistic ‘molehill’. Great to have your support and I certainly owe you a coffee. You continue to be my ‘go to employment lawyer’.

    Employment - May 2019 
  • Wendy was professional and handled my case perfectly.

    Family - April 2019 
  • I would recommend Andrew Peters; he even worked on his holiday to finalise my case.

    Employment - April 2019 
  • Just picked up the keys! Thank you so much for all your help Lalini, you have been excellent.

    Property - April 2019 
  • Andrew, many thanks for your prompt expert service. You have made this aspect of the process very easy for me.

    Employment - April 2019 
  • Thank you to Louise and to Mark for all the help over the last few years , you both made the whole situation less stressful for us to deal with and for that we are very grateful.

    Dispute Resolution - March 2019
  • Mark made it so easy and stress free for us which is in stark contrast to our previous experiences. My only regret is that we didn't engage your services sooner.

    Dispute Resolution - March 2019
  • Emily was simply fantastic and a credit to your firm. 

    Employment - February 2019
  • Simon - thank you to both yourself and Oliver for all the time you have taken to help me with this. I certainly could not have done this without your guidance and support. 

    Company Commercial - February 2019
  • The service provided - advice and sign-off of a settlement agreement - was first class from initial contact through to completion. I am struggling to think of how any of the steps with Baker Law could have been improved. My sincere thanks. 

    Employment - January 2019 
  • Andrew and Helen - Just a note to say thank you for your very professional, and warm, help from my first phone call with Helen yesterday through to the end of our meeting this morning. It was a pleasure to deal with you both - and should anyone ask if I could recommend a solicitors, I would have no hesitation in suggesting yourselves. 

    Employment - January 2019
  • Farhana explained everything really clearly and was extremely professional. 

    Private Client- December 2018
  • Service is perfect. 

    Private Client- November 2018 
  • First Class Service 

    Private Client- November 2018 
  • Good Service and Response. 

    Private Client- November 2018 
  • Emily Yeardley was recommended to me and I would have no hesitation in recommending her to assist in any employment related matters, she is extremely professional, experienced and a pleasure to deal with. 

    Employment- November 2018 
  • I am very happy with the service, given especially as I am housebound and Miss Ahmed came to see me quite a few times.  She was very kind and explained everything in terms I could understand. 

    Private Client- November 2018 
  • Can't see any improvement to the excellent service already given.

    Private Client- November 2018 
  • We could not have got to this point without you and your excellent team.

    Dispute Resolution- November 2018 
  •  I would like to thank you for your professional and sympathetic approach. I knew I was in safe hands and appreciated your wise advice and support. I would wholeheartedly recommend you and your practice.

    Private Client - September 2018
  • Wendy Armstrong has been excellent, professional, reliable, thorough, easily approachable and highly supportive in what has been a very difficult time. I would not hesitate to recommend her.

    Mrs B- September 2018
  • Thank you so much Andrew this is perfect and so helpful as always.

    Corporate Client - September 2018
  • Many thanks to Debbie Duggan who drew up my Will and Power of Attorney. Her thoughtfulness and wide knowledge and experience, together with her intelligent compassion, were all invaluable and I appreciated her excellent help and advice.

    Private Client- August 2018
  • Professional yet friendly staff. Miss Ahmed answered all my queries and was very helpful in guiding me through the process for my Lasting Power of Attorney and Will.

    Mrs B - August 2018
  • Amanda Glover is an excellent lawyer who combines an encyclopaedic knowledge of the law with superb client handling skills. Amanda's case preparation and instructions to Counsel are consistently thorough and insightful, and she always ensures that her clients receive a first class service.

    Craig Ludlow, Barrister 3 Paper Buildings
  • Emily was excellent. Very professional, helpful and clear in her communications. She has a warm, approachable manner which makes it easy for clients to discuss concerns. 

    Ms D
  • Thank you to Wendy Armstrong for supporting me and advising me through a very emotional time and taking the time to listen and see things from my perspective.

    Mrs A 
  • Debbie Duggan has been painstakingly patient. Very efficient but throughout thoughtful, confidence inspiring and knowledgable. She had wonderful attention to detail. Many Thanks. 

    Mrs K
  • My wife and I were very pleased and impressed with the way that Farhana Ahmed dealt with us and would recommend both Farhana and BakerLaw to our family and friends. Thank you. 

    Mr F 
  • Emily Yeardley guided and supported me through a workplace and disability dispute. Emily is an extremely efficient and knowledgeable Lawyer, ensuring I was always fully up to date with my case, taking time to explain the complexity of the employment law at every stage. I cannot recall having to chase Emily for anything throughout this process; Emily was always fully in control, which was a great comfort to me knowing I had someone on my side and often referred to Emily as my guardian angel. Emily showed me nothing but kindness through some of my most challenging days. This lady really cares about her clients. Thank you for being by my side and keeping me strong. 

    Mrs S
  • Thank you Debbie and Claire for all your help and kindness and the excellent way you dealt with my affairs, in what was quite a difficult time for me. 

    Mrs P
  • Debbie provided excellent advice and guidance and was totally professional from first contact. 

    Kevin Halstead
  • Would like to say a huge thank-you to you and your teams on 2 counts.

     

    For the work done to get to the deal day and specifically for the tolerance of the stop/start process - always frustrating I know.

     

    For the warm hospitality shown to us on completion day - everyone was so supportive and helpful- this was noted and appreciated by the vendors too - thanks also for the shampoo - it went down exceptionally well. Please pass on my sincere thanks and appreciation to all of your colleagues.

    Tim Downes, Chief Executive Officer, DED Ltd
  • We are a privately owned national financial advice firm and from time to time we too need professional legal advice. Bakerlaw quickly grasps aspects of our profession that eludes others. They use that understanding to challenge our assumptions, remaining friendly whilst being reflective and adaptable. They are a modern firm with high standards whose work ethic meets the demands of today’s pace of business. We anticipate a lasting relationship.

    Roger Lane, Chief Operating Officer, Charles Derby Group Ltd.
  • Just a note to inform you of the attention to detail and good customer service we have received from Lucy with regards to our property transactions. She is a credit to the practice and we will recommend her to others.

    Mr L
  • Debbie gave a full and comprehensive overview of the matters that would need to be dealt with along with an estimate of charges. Throughout the administration Debbie kept me informed of progress and was always available either by email or telephone to answer any queries that I raised... I would not hesitate to use your services again and would recommend you to others.

    Mr J.
  • Excellent advice and support. You think you know what you want but when supported by an expert you swiftly realise that support is invaluable.

    Mr & Mrs H
  • I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your help in the past few months. Your advice and support has been a great help during probably the most difficult time in my life.

    Debbie... I would like to THANK YOU for your help and professional advice and for answering all our questions and concerns in a friendly, kind manner that we could all understand. We will have no concern should we need to contact you in the future.

    Ms K.
  • I have been well satisfied with all aspects.

    Mr & Mrs T.
  • Thank you very much for your help and understanding during this very difficult time. Excellent service, very efficient.

    Mr B
  • Emily was absolutely incredible. I felt she explained everything very clearly, responded to communications very quickly meaning I never had to chase her and her support gave me much comfort during a difficult time. I will recommend Emily to anyone I know with an employment issue.

    Miss H
  • Emily is simply awesome! She made the whole process of my settlement agreement so easy and stress free, explained everything really well and responded to me extremely quickly. A fantastic level of service, which is friendly and very genuine.

    Mr M
  • Having received a very professional service I was reassured that the final outcome would be both positive and in line with my expectation. Overall rating – excellent

    Ms D
  • Really professional and helped me at a challenging time. Overall rating – excellent

    Mr J
  • My matter was dealt with efficiently and the communication I received was prompt and very clear. Overall rating - excellent

    Mr G
  • Emily communicated well and was always up to date and ensured timely responses. Overall rating – excellent

    Mr O-J
  • Amanda Glover excels at developing a good and empathetic relationship with her clients right from the start and understanding their concerns. She then identifies the legal issues to pursue and works well with counsel towards the goal of a successful resolution.

    Gavin Hamilton
  • Thank you for all your hard work on this. It made a stressful situation less stressful for us. We're very grateful for your help.

    Private Client - Dispute Resolution - October 2019

How does the Court decide who gets what in a Divorce?

Danielle Dyer
  • Posted
  • Author

There is no strict formula for dividing assets in divorce, with the court having a duty to consider all the circumstances of the particular case. The court’s first and paramount consideration will be the welfare of any children of the family under the...

Divorce: Who Gets Custody of the Family Pet?

Danielle Dyer
  • Posted
  • Author

Divorce, by its very nature is a highly emotive and difficult time for couples which involves, for many, deciding upon arrangements for their children and how their assets are to be divided. But what should happen to the family pet upon divorce. This has...